The Political Red Card

The question of integrity has been raised again this time by the National Integrity Alliance (NIA). They shared a list of 25 individuals who should be barred from seeking a political seat in the August general elections. They urged Kenyans not to vote for such individuals, as this has led the country to losing almost a third of its budget annually to corruption while ballooning the public debt.

“Let us do it now and deny anyone, who has been charged in court, that opportunity to remain in the ballot and seek another public office.” Sheila Masinde Executive Director TI stated in a press briefing. The group urged IEBC to bar the candidates to avoid history repeating itself. When their recommendations were ignored during the Red Card Campaign of 2017.

“In 2017 we red carded 20 individuals that should not have been cleared to participate in that general elections on the grounds of integrity and corruption. Some of those who were red carded and who eventually got elected were Ferdinand Waititu former Kiambu county governor , Mike Sonko former Nairobi county governor, Zachariah Obado Migori county governor and Anne Waiguru Kirinyanga county governor were eventually impeached.” Caroline Gaita Executive Director Mzalendo Trust.

The Alliance is also calling upon Kenyans to rally behind them on Red Card Campaign 2022 by signing the petition. Which will be presented to the EACC and IEBC together with the list of the aspirants who have been red carded. The NIA stated that the list was generated from authentic and verifiable investigative reports.

“It includes information gathered from existing reports by oversight institutions including: The Office of the Auditor General (OAG), The Ethics & Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC), Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR), The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC), Parliament and various cases before the courts both concluded and active.” NIA said.

The lobby hopes to hold all elected and aspiring candidates accountable to chapter 6 of the constitution.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts