IEBC Commissioners’ Unanimous Decision

IEBC Commissioners appear together for the first time since the Announcement of Presidential Results

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners together with their Chairperson Wafula Chebukati have appeared together for the first time since the announcement of the August 9 election presidential results on August 15.

All the five commissioners Justus Nyang’aya, Irene Masit, Abdi Guliye, Boya Molu, Francis Wanderi, and IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati, his vice Juliana Cherera met today, Monday for a briefing at the Bomas of Kenya where they met leaders from areas where the elections were postponed amid claims of harassment of IEBC officials.

The Electoral body commissioners split camps ahead of the announcement of the presidential results with the vice chairperson Ms. Cherera leading the three commissioners in disowning the presidential results which saw William Ruto declared president-elect.

In their presser at a Nairobi Hotel, Cherera said the last phase of the electoral process, which is the verification of results, was not transparent.

“As you can see, the four of us are here and not at Bomas where the result is going to be announced because of the opaque nature of how this phase has been handled,” she told journalists.

“We therefore cannot take ownership of the result that is going to be announced.”

Today, however, all the commissioners agreed to hold the election on August 29 for Kakamega and Mombasa counties gubernatorial seats, and the Pokot South, Kacheliba, Kitui Rural and Rongai MP seats.

The exercise is also set to be held for the MCA seat in Nyaki West and Kwa Njenga wards.

The CEO of Music Copyright Society of Kenya (MCSK) Dr. Ezekiel Mutua said,

“It was gratifying seeing the Commissioners together in one accord today. Their disagreements and public spats  were putting the country in jeopardy. their unity is good in moving the country forward.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts