Actualization of 2/3 Gender Rule in Nakuru

The promulgation of the Kenyan Constitution 2010 introduced new freedoms to the marginalized communities when it comes to legislation.  Article 81 (b) of the Kenyan constitution under the electoral system states, “not more than two-thirds of the members of elective public bodies shall be of the same gender.”

To support this law, Article 100 of the Constitution states, “Parliament shall enact legislation to promote the representation in Parliament of: a) women; b) persons with disabilities; c) youth; d) ethnic and other minorities; and e) marginalized communities.” Even though the laws provided grounds of the actualization of this reality. The election cycles of 2013 and 2017 have fallen short of this actualization.

However, as the 2022 general elections results continue to stream in more women have won take key political seats. With Nakuru actualizing the two third gender rule. The new women centered leadership of the county consist of Governor elect Susan Kihika, Senator elect Tabitha Karanja, Women rep Liza Chelule. Out of the 11 constituencies of the county; 4 women have been elected as Members of Parliament. They are; Hon Irene Njoki MP Bahati, Hon Jane Kihara – Naivasha, Hon M. Wangari- Gilgil and Hon C. Kathambi –Njoro.

This marks new strides in Kenya history as more women join the competitive world of politics and win seats. With six other women have also been elected as governors of various counties they include; Anne Waiguru Kirinyaga Governor elect, Cecily Mbarire- Embu Governor-elect, Gladys Wanga- Homa Bay Governor elect, Fatuma Achani -Kwale Governor Elect, Wavinya Ndeti -Machakos Governor elect and Kawira Mwangaza – Meru Governor elect.

The 2022 elections have proven that Kenya is moving into a more progressive and political diverse leadership. As we await more results to be confirmed, continue to be peaceful!

Previous article
Next article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts